Now Available! FEMA P-2090/ NIST SP-1254 Special Report

The joint FEMA P-2090/ NIST SP-1254 Special Report, Recommended Options for Improving the Built Environment for Post-Earthquake Reoccupancy and Functional Recovery Time, is available for immediate download.  This report was requested by Congress as part of the most recent National Earthquake Hazards Reduction Program (NEHRP) reauthorization, and is the work of a Committee of Experts including more than 30 individuals from federal agencies, nongovernmental organizations, private sector entities, disaster management professional associations, engineering professional associations, and professional construction and homebuilding industry associations.

The report provides options in the form of recommendations, tasks, and alternatives for improving the built environment to increase resilience and reduce the impacts of future natural hazard events.  It includes one overarching recommendation and six additional supporting recommendations. Across all recommendations, there are 17 tasks identifying necessary actions and nine possible alternative actions needed for implementation.  Finally, the report includes an assessment of the recommendations and describes a path forward for implementation.  

Call for Consultants

ATC is committed to building a workforce that is as diverse as the communities we serve. Are you interested in consulting? Join us!

2015 Champions of Earthquake Resilience Awards

The Applied Technology Council (ATC) and the Structural Engineering Institute (SEI) of the American Society of Civil Engineers awarded the 2015 Champions of Earthquake Resilience Awards on December 11, 2015. The awards dinner was held at the Maritime Museum in San Francisco and was attended by 120 award winners, presenters, and guests. The ATC-SEI Award Winners were selected from a broad range of nominated projects and programs resulting from a “Call for Nominations” distributed to more than 50,000 structural engineering and earthquake hazard reduction professionals in the United States, Canada, and other countries. The purpose of the awards is to recognize and publicize innovative earthquake engineering programs and projects that have (or will have) substantial impact on public safety and property loss reduction.

The awards were given in three categories and the winners were announced at a press conference held in conjunction with the ATC-SEI 2nd Conference on Improving the Seismic Performance of Existing Buildings and Other Structures. The 2015 Champions of Earthquake Resilience Award winners (7 in total) include:

Category: Exceptional Public- and Private-Sector Research
and Development (R&D) Programs



Development of Guidance and Procedures for the Seismic Design of Tall Buildings
Jointly Awarded to the Pacific Earthquake Engineering Research (PEER) Center
Los Angeles Tall Buildings Structural Design Council

Development of FEMA P-58, Seismic Performance Assessment of Buildings Methodology and Companion Performance Assessment Calculation Tool (PACT)
Awarded to the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA)


Category: Extraordinary Innovation in Development of a
Community Earthquake Safety Program

Los Angeles Resilience by Design Program
Awarded to the City of Los Angeles

San Francisco Earthquake Safety Implementation Program
Awarded to the City of San Francisco


Category: Extraordinary Innovation in Seismic Protection of Buildings and Lifelines

Development of Performance-Based Seismic Retrofit Guidelines for Schools
Awarded to the Association of Professional Engineers and Geoscientists of British Columbia, University of British Columbia’s Earthquake Engineering Research Facility, and the British Columbia Ministry of Education

Transbay Transit Center, San Francisco
Awarded to the Transbay Joint Powers Authority and the Design and Construction Team

San Francisco Water System Improvement Program
Awarded to the San Francisco Public Utilities Commission

Detailed citations for each award are provided here. For any questions, please contact the Applied Technology Council at (650) 595-1542 or This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..


Sponsored by