Now Available! Update of FEMA P-58 Series

ATC is pleased to announce the availability of the FEMA P-58 Series, Seismic Performance Assessment of Buildings, Methodology and Implementation, prepared by the Applied Technology Council (ATC) for the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA).

FEMA P-58 Volumes 1-3 were originally published in 2012. A revised version of these volumes, plus four new volumes, new tools, and background documentation are all now available for immediate download.

Now Available!

FEMA P-2012, Assessing Seismic Performance of Buildings with Configuration Irregularities

March 23, 2016
For More Information, Contact:
ATC, 650/595-1542
This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.


At the annual Organizational Board meeting on January 29, 2016, the Applied Technology Council (ATC) Board of Directors elected officers for the Year 2016. Ms. Victoria Arbitrio of Gilsanz Murray Steficek LLP, New York City, New York, was elected President. During her five years on the Board, Vickie has served as Secretary-Treasurer, Vice President, and on numerous ATC Board Committees. Succeeding Vickie as Vice President is Mr. Michael D. Engelhardt of the University of Texas at Austin, Austin, Texas. Mr. William Staehlin, Consulting Structural Engineer in Truckee, California, was elected Secretary-Treasurer for a second term.

Meeting dates and locations for the 2016-2017 Board meetings are set as follows:

  • May 7, 2016: Atlanta, Georgia (preceded by a tour of Mercedes-Benz Stadium – home of the Atlanta Falcons)
  • July 30, 2016: To be determined
  • October 15, 2016: Maui, Hawaii (in conjunction with the SEAOC Annual Convention to be held October 12-15)
  • January 28, 2017: San Francisco Bay Area, West Coast (Annual and Organizational Meetings)

ATC Board members are appointed for three-year terms, and some Board members serve more than one term. In addition to the above-cited officers, the ATC Board consists of James A. Amundson, Past President, Hope-Amundson Engineering, San Diego, California; Leighton Cochran, Leighton Cochran Consulting, Queensland, Australia; Anthony B. Court, A. B. Court & Associates, San Diego, California; Kurtis R. Gurley, University of Florida Department of Civil and Coastal Engineering, Gainesville, Florida; Erleen Hatfield, Buro Happold, New York, New York; Doug Hohbach, Hohbach-Lewin, Inc., Palo Alto, California; Andrew B. Kennedy, University of Notre Dame College of Engineering, Notre Dame, Indiana; Roberto T. Leon, Virginia Tech, Blacksburg, Virginia; James O. Malley, Degenkolb Engineers, San Francisco, California; Robert Paullus Jr., Paullus Structural Consultants, Olive Branch, Mississippi; Williston (Bill) L. Warren, IV, SESOL Inc., Newport Beach, California; Kent Yu, SEFT Consulting Group, Beaverton, Oregon



What's New?

What's New? The ATC Hazards by Location website allows the user to find site-specific basic wind speeds, ground snow loads, tornado design wind loads, and seismic loads used in the standards published by the American Society of Civil Engineers, National Earthquake Hazards Reduction Program, and International Building Code. This website was developed with the financial help of the ATC Endowment Fund, Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA), Insurance Institute for Business & Home Safety (IBHS), and Metal Building Manufacturers Association (MBMA), and is free of charge to users.

product hilite

Available Products. The library of completed ATC products includes more than 100 publications on key issues in structural, earthquake, wind, and coastal engineering.  Some are available as free downloads and others can be purchased through ATC’s newly updated online store.   More…

Projects. With funding from various government agencies and the ATC Endowment Fund, ATC is actively engaged in a broad range of funded technical projects to mitigate the effects of natural and other hazards on the built environment.

Events. Periodically ATC conducts seminars, conferences, workshops, webinars, and other meetings to document and advance the state of structural engineering practice and to identify research needs.  Registration for these events can be made through the “Events” section of this website.  ATC also has the ability to provide an instructor to conduct your ATC-20 and ATC-45 in-person trainings, and information about these options is available under On Demand Training in the Product menu above.